Spring Holiday : Indonesia!

Hello all! Happy sunday!

Maybe this is a bit late, since spring holiday is over, but now i want to tell you about how i spent my spring holiday! So i went back home to Indonesia, it was really-really fun and nice!

So i went back at March 9th. I met my Mom and Dad at Changi Airport, Mom was flying from Sydney (she had just visited my biggest sister) and Dad was flying from a business trip at Bangkok. And i hadn’t seen them for 5 months! It was so fun to see them, my lovely parent! 🙂

Meeting Mommy and Daddy at Changi

Meeting Mommy and Daddy at Changi

Mainly, my holiday was very fun (i have to admit it, i almost didn’t study during my holiday time, that’s why now i have to catch up so much now, darn). I also didn’t workout so much, well i never walk like i do here (let’s blame my driver and my car haha).

But basically it was very fun because I could just do everything that i could not do here at Japan. Here is some of the highlight of my holiday! 😀

 

1. Meeting family, and friends

Ok, this is just obvious. I miss my family after i didn’t meet them for about 5 months :’) My little brother, Ilham was busy preparing for middle school final test because he would enter high school soon. I hope that he could enter the best high school in Bandung!

Family Dinner; my brother, me, dad, mom, and aunt :)

Family Dinner; my brother, me, dad, mom, and aunt 🙂

I also did meet my cousin, Rafdi. He had obtained his medical doctor degree and now having some kind of internship experience to some rural area at Central Java. But when I went back to Indonesia for 3 weeks he was also going back to Bandung for 1 week! We went to a karaoke and dinner trip together, so fun! 🙂 In the last few days of my holiday, my biggest sister Allya flew from Sydney and after that we flew to Japan together! such fun! 🙂

 

mtf_Qksbw_117

Me and Mas Rafdi and my little brother (Mas is a calling for bigger brother)

 

And friends, i met my university friends, my loveliest band friends, and also my high school best friends. We hadn’t met for such a long time but finally during this vacation we could meet each other. Anty (my high school best friends) was opening an Islamic clothing boutique with her friends and we were invited to its opening.

High School Besties :)

High School Besties 🙂

 

 

2. Taking violin lesson

Well i miss this so much! I have been taught by the same violin teacher for years and now i already feel like he’s my own big brother! ❤ During this short lesson (3 meetings) i studied about strumming technique, double note etude, and mastering some songs played by Taro Hakase (like his famous version of To Love you More and another song my teacher claimed to be Etupirka but it’s actually not Etupirka :p)

My Brother, My Sister, me, and my beloved violin teacher :)

My Brother, My Sister, me, and my beloved violin teacher 🙂

 

 

3. Eating yummy spicy and rich flavored food

While Japan is famous for its natural and fresh food but with limited kind of taste. I think Indonesian food is exactly the opposite of that. I was used to rich flavored food, and i really like spicy food! That’s what i miss so much from Indonesia because i didn’t cook Indonesian so much in Japan :p

Yummy Kwetiaw, fried noodle with vegetables and seafood inside :)

Yummy Fried Rice, fried noodle with vegetables and seafood inside 🙂

 

Iga Bakar, grilled rib served in a hot plate with sweet soy sauce, tomato, and sliced chili :D からい!

Iga Bakar, grilled rib served in a hot plate with sweet soy sauce, tomato, and sliced chili 😀 からい!

Dynamite Sushi, i think it's only in Indonesia! sushi with chilli sauce on top of it and sliced chili together with fried salmon inside! double からい!

Dynamite Sushi, i think it’s only in Indonesia! sushi with chilli sauce on top of it and sliced chili together with fried salmon inside! double からい!

 

4.  Re-opening my online cake shop for awhile

So before i went to Japan actually i had a little online cake shop that i run together with my sister, the name is Cupcupmeal. We made cupcakes and cakes and sometimes we also do customized cake for birthday, anniversary or basically any occassion.

I was surprised that when i announced its reopening for 5 days actually i got pretty much of order! 😀 Usually i never do the decoration and icing part but since my sister wasn’t there so i manage to do some! 🙂

Let's see, we hae chocolate, raspberry, vanilla and peanut butter & jelly here!

Let’s see, we have chocolate, raspberry, vanilla,matcha and peanut butter & jelly here!

Rainbow cakes, layer of 6 different flavor! :) I manage to decorate it!!

Rainbow cake, layer of 6 different flavor! 🙂 I manage to decorate it!!

 

5. Going to my hometown, Surabaya

So my family came from Surabaya, a city located in the east part of Indonesia’s Java island. It was so fun, i got to meet my big family here! And so there were so many delicious food here 😀

Me and my cousin's babies :)

Me and my cousin’s babies 🙂

Me and my aunt and our favorite ice cream :)

Me and my aunt and our favorite ice cream 🙂

Me and my uncle :)

Me and my uncle 🙂

6. Playing music with my band, and meet my Bandung Indie Music Community Again~

Maybe this is the thing that i miss most. Playing with orchestra is surely fun, but you can’t just go with your own style, scream, shout, jump, or do anything fierce! So that’s why i really miss to play band 😀

Apparently my band called Angsa dan Serigala had the opportunity to play in a big event the time when i got back home. The event was held at Indonesia’s main sport hall called Gelora Bung Karno, that place was so huge, it was a hall with capacity of 20.000 or so. The event was held by government to encourage the spirit of entrepreneurship of young people.

The stage and location was huge!

The stage and location was huge!

This is my battle gear!

This is my battle gear!

So many Indonesian best musician’s were there, we could say that we were so happy and so lucky to be there! 🙂 I even managed to take photo with one of Indonesia’s legendary vocalist, his name is Ariel from Noah Band 😀

Me and one of the most acknowledged vocalist of Indonesia :D

Me and one of the most acknowledged vocalist of Indonesia 😀

And at last, my band’s vocalist were given the opportunity to do collaboration with more senior and talented singer to perform the song that was made by Indonesian President 😀

 

And anyway that was my holiday! Fun isn’t it? 🙂 How’s yours? 🙂

 

Love

 

 

Afifa Ayu Koesoema

Leave a Reply

