Finally Bachelor of Science!

Hello everyone!

Maybe you have noticed from the title of this post.. yes, I am finally a Bachelor of Science, alhamdulillah!

 

Finally after 4 and a half year, struggling to study Microbiology and Bioengineering plus travelling back and forth from Bandung to Tokyo. Long sleepless night at the laboratory in ITB, frustration over my thesis, frustration over failure and language barrier at TIT. that creepy homesick feeling in winter when you still have to go to lab on a heavy snowing day. frustration of graduating late and be left by my fellow friends.

Well, I can’t believe that i can go through it all, and pass it with (probably) flying colors~ Alhamdulillah, I am a Bachelor of Science!! aku sudah Sarjana Sains!! 私もすぐ卒業する!

Afifa Ayu Koesoema, B.Sc

Afifa Ayu Koesoema, B.Sc

I had my final defense on 27th of February 2014 so this post is however, 2 weeks late, since i’ve spent almost the entire last week in Bali 😀 But I guess it’s never late to tell a little story about what happened on my final defense day and also to give some acknowledgments 🙂

 

—–

So I was judged by Bu Pingkan, Bu Maelita, and Bu Dea. The presentation session was smooth, as i had run through the presentation almost everyday. The Q&A session was a bit of a struggle, I think i have an OK understanding about my topic but I am not very good at memorizing all the subject for comprehension.

I have some feedback from the lecturers, it’s a constructive criticism. As a person you have to be able to listen to critiques and that’s why I think we have 3 lecturers to give you feedback. They will tell you what’s the right thing to do especially about developing a research.

Like they said, my research might not be something really triumphant nor does it get nears excellence. I am aware that I still have to learn A LOT, really A LOT. But I guess I should be (a little) proud and give (a little) appreciation to myself, to be consistent on finishing it 🙂

Try to adsorb the advice implement it on my future research and learn from the past mistakes! #positivity

—–

So that day was such a joyful day. My parents and my aunt were there to support me. Some of my friends also came and give me surprise and present after my final defense. I’m so happy! 🙂

Thank you Mommy and Daddy for continuous support! You both are the best, Love you!

Thank you Mommy and Daddy for continuous support! You both are the best, Love you!

 

with my wonderful aunt, De Lilly :)

with my wonderful aunt, De Lilly 🙂

Thankyou for all the guidances, Ibu Pingkan and Ibu Dea <3

Thankyou for all the guidances, Ibu Pingkan and Ibu Dea ❤

 

double A :*

double A :*

Thankyou Microbabes :*

Thankyou Microbabes :*

I also would genuinely say my thanks to my siblings my professor sister Mbak Allya Paramita, my artsy sister Mbak Azisa Noor and my musical-genius brother Mohammad Ilham Akbar.

Also to my best cousin Rafdi Ahmed,, my best Aussie girl Palmira Vidya Mumpuni, my music inspiration Mas Ammy Kurniawan, Associate Professor Matsuda Tomoko and all members of Matsuda Laboratory Tokyo Institute of Technology, YSEP Tokyo Tech 2012-2013, all friends of SITH and Mikrobiologi ITB 2009,  my partner on stage Syarif Maulana and all the bassist of Bandung String Trio (lol), Klabklassik, Klabjazz and Ammy Alternative String Bandung, and of course all of you, readers!

—–

 

Some people said that getting your bachelor degree is nothing compared to the ‘real life’ out there. But I bet when they were also on my state, they also considered this process as something quite tough 😀 And i should appreciate and embrace all of this, Alhamdulillah 😀

And anyway, my ‘real life’ is still way too far, after graduation i will soon enter academic life again. I’ll be flying to Tokyo on September for Integrated Master-Doctoral Program! I will catch my dream to be an academic! I am so happy and grateful to have the scholarship. Yet I am very anxious at the same time, concerning the rigor of graduate education 😀

 

But I have to have faith to do this, just like what Coco Lee said..

Remember, you are amazing and you have to believe that you’re gonna go far!

 

Love

 

Afifa Ayu Koesoema

Leave a Reply

